English
Deutsch

retour

P.-S.

Dans les années 70, Marvin Gaye chanta une version de Where Are We Going? tirée de l'album « Black Byrd » de Donald Byrd. Elle sortit pour la première fois en 2001 sur la compilation Motown « The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye » et sur l'édition Deluxe de « Let's Get It On » (Motown 2001). Fonce et Larry Mizell, ainsi que Freddie Perren y chantent les choeurs.

En 1973, Larry Mizell composa et produisit, pour Brenda Lee Eeager, la chanson When I'm With You, sortie chez Mercury et featuring la flûtiste Bobbi Humphrey. En 1981, les frères composèrent également pour Mary Wells la chanson disco Gigolo (Epic).

En 1974, Larry Mizell composa, avec Margie Evans, sa chanson Waterfalls, sortie chez Buddah Records. Larry fut aussi le producteur de la chanson et la produisit pour Thorne Productions.

Avant de produire les deux albums de Gary Bartz pour Sky High Productions, Larry Mizell travailla avec Gary sur son album concept « Singerella: A Ghetto Fairy Tale » (Prestige 1974) dont il fit le mixage final.

De l'album original « Music Is My Sanctuary » de Gary Bartz il en existe quelques disques avec la chanson « Funked Up » mais celle-ci n'est pas mentionnée sur la jaquette. Ces disques donnent comme producteur « Larry Arnold » au lieu de Larkin Arnold. En plus il manque une ligne en bas du dos de la jaquette. Il s'agit probablement de quelques gravures qui ont été mis sur le marché avant qu'on ait corrigé les « erreurs ».

L'album « Say My Friend » de Rance Allen (Capitol 1977, cat. no. ST-11613) a été sorti dans la même année sous le nouveau titre « The Way It Is » (cat. no. ST-11994). Les mauvais ventes du disque ont amené le nouveau directeur A&R du label d'ajouter des cordes en live et de sortir l'album sous le nouveau titre et avec une nouvelle jaquette.

Comme ingénieur électricien, Larry Mizell procéda à des tests de fiabilité sur le module lunaire pour le programme Apollo de la NASA. Il fut aussi l'un des premiers chercheurs à s'intéresser aux cristaux liquides que l'on utilise aujourd'hui pour l'affichage LCD, par exemple.

Don Mizell, un cousin des frères Mizell, fut l'un des fondateurs, en 1979, de la Black Entertainment & Sports Lawyers Association. A cette époque, il était responsable du secteur jazz d'Elektra Records et il produisit, entre autres, les albums de Terry Callier. Il fut aussi un membre-clé de la campagne menée par Stevie Wonder - qui fut d'ailleurs couronnée de succès - pour faire de l'anniversaire de Martin Luther King Jr. une fête nationale.

Cindy Mizelle, une cousine des frères Mizell, est une célèbre choriste. Elle a travaillé avec Chaka Khan, les Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson, Luther Vandross, et d'autres encore.

Fonce Mizell fut interviewé pour le documentaire « Walk On By: The Story Of Popular Song » (BBC2, UK, 2001, 8 épisodes). Il apparaît dans le dernier épisode « Pure Pop » pour parler des morceaux qu'il a composés pour les Jackson Five.

Larry Mizell Jr., le fils de Larry, fait partie du groupe de rap Cancer Rising.

Larry Mizell a écrit la chanson « Play With The Changes » de l'album du même titre de 4hero (2007) et y chante avec Talita Long. Celle-ci avait aussi chanté sur « N R Time » de la compilation Blue Note « ell » (2005). D'ailleurs Larry a produit la chanson « Boys Will Be Boys » de Tailta sur son album indépendant « Back To You » (2006) (les autres chansons étant produits par Kevin Toney des Blackbyrds).

retour

site web créé par Blackbird

Français
Deutsch

back

P.S.

Marvin Gaye sung a version of Where Are We Going? from Donald Byrd's "Black Byrd" album in the 1970's. It was released for the first time in 2001 on the Motown compilation "The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye" and on the deluxe edition of "Let's Get It On" (Motown 2001). Fonce and Larry Mizell and Freddie Perren are singing backing vocals.

In 1973 Larry Mizell wrote and produced the song When I'm With You for Brenda Lee Eager, released on the Mercury label and featuring flutist Bobbi Humphrey. In 1981 the Brothers also produced the disco song Gigolo for Mary Wells, released on the Epic label.

In 1974 Larry Mizell co-wrote, with Margie Evans, her song Waterfalls, released on Buddah Records. Larry also acted as producer, producing the song for Thorne Productions.

Before producing Gary Bartz's two albums for Sky High Productions, Larry Mizell worked with Gary on his concept album "Singerella: A Ghetto Fairy Tale" (Prestige 1974) where he handled the final mix.

From the original LP "Music Is My Sactuary" by Gary Bartz there are some versions that include the original song "Funked Up" even though it isn't listed on the sleeve. Those LPs also list "Larry Arnold" as producer instead of Larkin Arnold, and there is one line missing at the bottom right of the back cover. Presumably these are some of the first pressings, which accidentally got out before the "errors" were corrected.

Rance Allen's album "Say My Friend" (Capitol 1977, cat. no. ST-11613) was re-issued in the same year under the new title "The Way It Is" (cat. no. ST-11994). Due to bad sales of the record the newly appointed head of A&R decided to add live strings to one or two songs and re-issue the record with different title and new cover.

As an electrical engineer, Larry Mizell performed testing and reliability work on the Lunar Module for the NASA Apollo Program. He also was one of the first to do research on liquid crystals, which today are used for example in displays (LCD).

In 1979, Don Mizell, a cousin of the Mizell Brothers, co-founded the Black Entertainment and Sports Lawyers Association. During that time, he headed the jazz division at Elektra Records and produced, among others, Terry Callier's late 1970s records. He was also a key member of Stevie Wonder's successful campaign to make Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday a national holiday.

Cindy Mizelle, another cousin of the Mizell Brothers, is a popular backing vocalist. She has worked with Chaka Khan, The Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson, Luther Vandross, and others.

Fonce Mizell was interviewed for the documentary "Walk On By: The Story Of Popular Song" (BBC2, UK, 2001, 8 episodes). He appears in the final episode "Pure Pop" where he talks about his songwriting work for the Jackson Five.

Larry's son, Larry Mizell Jr., is a rapper with the group Cancer Rising.

Larry Mizell wrote the title track of the 2007 album by 4hero "Play With The Changes", on which he sings with Talita Long. She also appears on the song "N R Time" of the 2005 Blue Note compilation "Mizell". Larry produced and arranged Talita's song "Boys Will Be Boys" from her 2006 independent album "Back To You" (the other songs being produced and arranged by Kevin Toney of the Blackbyrds).

back

website created and hosted by Blackbird