English
Français

zurück

PS

Vom Song "Where Are We Going?" aus Donald Byrds Album "Black Byrd" gibt es eine Version von Marvin Gaye aus den 70er Jahren. Der Song wurde zum ersten Mal auf der Motown Compilation "The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye" (2001), sowie auf der Deluxe Edition von "Let's Get It On" (Motown 2001) veröffentlicht. Fonce und Larry Mizell und Freddie Perren singen Background.

1973 schrieb und produzierte Larry Mizell den Song When I'm With You für Brenda Lee Eager (beim Label Mercury erschienen), in welchem Bobbi Humphrey Flöte spielt. 1981 schrieben die Brüder auch den Disco-Song Gigolo für Mary Wells, der beim Label Epic erschien.

1974 schrieb Larry Mizell zusammen mit Margie Evans deren Song Waterfalls, der auf Buddah Records erschienen ist. Larry ist auch der Produzent des Songs und produzierte ihn für Thorne Productions.

Bevor er für Gary Bartz die beiden Alben für Sky High Productions produzierte, war Larry Mizell bei Garys Konzept-Album "Singerella: A Ghetto Fairy Tale" (Prestige 1974) für den Endmix zuständig.

Von der Original-LP "Music Is My Sanctuary" von Gary Bartz gibt es einige Versionen mit dem Originalsong "Funked Up" darauf, der jedoch auf dem Cover nicht aufgelistet ist. Als Produzent wird "Larry Arnold" anstatt Larkin Arnold angegeben. Ausserdem fehlt eine Zeile unten rechts auf der Cover-Rückseite. Vermutlich handelt es sich um einige der zuerst gedruckten Platten, die aus Versehen in Umlauf kamen, bevor man die "Fehler" korrigieren konnte.

Das Album "Say My Friend" von Rance Allen (Capitol 1977, Kat. Nr. ST-11613) wurde im selben Jahr unter dem neuen Titel "The Way It Is" (Kat. Nr. ST-11994) herausgegeben. Weil sich das Album schlecht verkaufte, beschloss der neue A&R-Direktor von Capitol Records, bei einigen Songs ein Live-Streichorchester einzuspielen und das Album unter neuem Titel und in neuem Cover herauszubringen.

Als Elektrotechniker führte Larry Mizell Tests an der Mondlandefähre für das Apollo-Programm der NASA durch. Er war auch einer der ersten, der Flüssigkristalle erforschte, die heute unter anderem in LCDs verwendet werden.

Don Mizell, ein Cousin der Mizell Brüder, war 1979 Mitbegründer der Black Entertainment and Sports Lawyers Association (Anwaltskammer). Zu dieser Zeit war er Leiter der Jazz-Abteilung bei Elektra Records und produzierte unter anderen Terry Calliers Alben der späten 70er. Ausserdem trug er wesentlich zu Stevie Wonders Erfolg bei, den Geburtstag von Martin Luther King Jr. zu einem nationalen Feiertag zu machen.

Cindy Mizelle, eine Cousine der Mizell Brüder, ist eine bekannte Backgroundsängerin. Sie sang für Chaka Khan, die Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson, Luther Vandross und andere.

Fonce Mizell wurde 2001 für die Dokumentarserie "Walk On By: The Story Of Popular Song" (BBC2, UK, 8 Folgen) interviewt. Er erscheint in der letzten Folge "Pure Pop", wo er über seine Arbeit als Songschreiber für die Jackson Five spricht.

Larrys Sohn, Larry Mizell Jr., ist Rapper in der Band Cancer Rising.

Für das Album "Play With The Changes" von 4hero (2007) schrieb Larry Mizell den Titelsong und singt im Duett mit Talita Long, die ihre Stimme auch für den Song "N R Time" aus der Blue Note Compilation "Mizell" (2005) geliehen hat. Larry produzierte zudem Talitas Song "Boys Will Be Boys" aus ihrem Independent-Album "Back To You" (2006) (die anderen Songs produzierte übrigens Kevin Toney von den Blackbyrds).

zurück

Webseite erstellt von Blackbird

Français
Deutsch

back

P.S.

Marvin Gaye sung a version of Where Are We Going? from Donald Byrd's "Black Byrd" album in the 1970's. It was released for the first time in 2001 on the Motown compilation "The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye" and on the deluxe edition of "Let's Get It On" (Motown 2001). Fonce and Larry Mizell and Freddie Perren are singing backing vocals.

In 1973 Larry Mizell wrote and produced the song When I'm With You for Brenda Lee Eager, released on the Mercury label and featuring flutist Bobbi Humphrey. In 1981 the Brothers also produced the disco song Gigolo for Mary Wells, released on the Epic label.

In 1974 Larry Mizell co-wrote, with Margie Evans, her song Waterfalls, released on Buddah Records. Larry also acted as producer, producing the song for Thorne Productions.

Before producing Gary Bartz's two albums for Sky High Productions, Larry Mizell worked with Gary on his concept album "Singerella: A Ghetto Fairy Tale" (Prestige 1974) where he handled the final mix.

From the original LP "Music Is My Sactuary" by Gary Bartz there are some versions that include the original song "Funked Up" even though it isn't listed on the sleeve. Those LPs also list "Larry Arnold" as producer instead of Larkin Arnold, and there is one line missing at the bottom right of the back cover. Presumably these are some of the first pressings, which accidentally got out before the "errors" were corrected.

Rance Allen's album "Say My Friend" (Capitol 1977, cat. no. ST-11613) was re-issued in the same year under the new title "The Way It Is" (cat. no. ST-11994). Due to bad sales of the record the newly appointed head of A&R decided to add live strings to one or two songs and re-issue the record with different title and new cover.

As an electrical engineer, Larry Mizell performed testing and reliability work on the Lunar Module for the NASA Apollo Program. He also was one of the first to do research on liquid crystals, which today are used for example in displays (LCD).

In 1979, Don Mizell, a cousin of the Mizell Brothers, co-founded the Black Entertainment and Sports Lawyers Association. During that time, he headed the jazz division at Elektra Records and produced, among others, Terry Callier's late 1970s records. He was also a key member of Stevie Wonder's successful campaign to make Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday a national holiday.

Cindy Mizelle, another cousin of the Mizell Brothers, is a popular backing vocalist. She has worked with Chaka Khan, The Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson, Luther Vandross, and others.

Fonce Mizell was interviewed for the documentary "Walk On By: The Story Of Popular Song" (BBC2, UK, 2001, 8 episodes). He appears in the final episode "Pure Pop" where he talks about his songwriting work for the Jackson Five.

Larry's son, Larry Mizell Jr., is a rapper with the group Cancer Rising.

Larry Mizell wrote the title track of the 2007 album by 4hero "Play With The Changes", on which he sings with Talita Long. She also appears on the song "N R Time" of the 2005 Blue Note compilation "Mizell". Larry produced and arranged Talita's song "Boys Will Be Boys" from her 2006 independent album "Back To You" (the other songs being produced and arranged by Kevin Toney of the Blackbyrds).

back

website created and hosted by Blackbird